News and Reviews

Jeanne Clarke Local History Award - 2016

Posted Feb 27, 2016 by Paul Strickland
From the Corner Table

About 85 people gathered in the Prince George Public Library’s Keith Gordon Room for the 2016 Jeanne Clarke Local History Awards.

“History is our collective narrative,” said Carolynne Burkholder-James, chair of the Prince George Public Library Board.

“If you don’t record the events of local history, you take the risk of losing them forever,” added Kris Henderson, Clarke’s grandson.

The Select Committee for Prince George’s 100th Anniversary Celebration were the winners of the Service Award category and they were presented with a plaque by Mercedes DuBois, member of the Prince George Public Library Board and chair of its local history committee. The Anniversary Celebrations committee work represented two-and-a-half years of dedication, said Councilor and chair of the committee, Murry Krause when he accepted the plaque. Their first meeting was in 2012, and their last was December 24, 2015. Committee members were Krause, Mayor Lyn Hall, Clarence Wigmore, Janet Bigelow, Frank Van Der Lans, Trish Bella, Jeff Elder, Brenda Langlois, Judy Neiser, Tracy McCall, Jason Morgan, Michael Stanyer, Wendy Young, Doug Hofstede, Roya Compo and Karen Jeffery who stood on the stage with Krause during the presentation.

The winners of the 2016 Jeanne Clarke Local History Publication Award were Trelle Morrow, for his book, Living Legacies: 100 Years of Prince George Architecture; and Debra Komar, for her book, The Bastard of Fort Stikine: The Hudson’s Bay Company and the Murder of John McLoughlin Jr.

Nominees also included The Prince George Firefighters Historical Book Committee, for Frozen Flame: A History of the Prince George Fire Department; David Thauberger, for The Prince George Paintings; Peter Miller, for From the Corner Table: Selected Columns by Peter Miller; Carol and Rick Blacklaws, for In the Footsteps of Alexander Mackenzie: Archaeology and the Nuxalk Carrier Grease Trails; and Diamond Jenness, for Three Athapaskan Ethnographies: Diamond Jenness on the Sekani, Tsuu T’ina and Wet’suwet’en, 1921-1924.

Other nominees were Jaqueline Holler, for Barkerville; Lorraine Knight, for First Tracks: Building Ski Culture in Prince George, BC; Helen Mustard, in recognition of her Where Eagles Fly and Rivers Run Wild; Valerie Giles, for her book Remembering: A Celebration of Prince George’s Storied Past; and Shirley Gratton, chairperson, 40th Anniversary Celebrations Cookbook Committee of Christ Our Saviour Church, for 40th Anniversary Celebrations Cookbook.

Morrow shared memories of his move to Prince George in 1954 and gave a brief outline of changes in architectural styles in this community over the past 100 years. Morrow will give a talk on local buildings and the architectural styles they represent March 31 from 7 to 8:30 in the public library’s Keith Gordon Room.

Reviewer Bio:

Paul, in his 28 years as a full-time journalist and 6.5 years as a free lance journalist, Paul has worked for newspapers in Nevada, Medicine Hat and Prince George. Besides being an investigative reporter, he is a poet, a short story writer and an essayist. He presently resides in Prince George and haunts all the literary scenes that appear in town.